Civil Engineering Graduate Degrees

Civil Image

Research Areas and Faculty 

Faculty in this area focus on drinking water treatment and distributions systems, air pollution control, hazardous waste management, contaminated site remediation, environmental protection and restoration, and habitat protection and rehabilitation. Read more>>

Research Faculty

Dr. Wen Zhang
wenzhang@uark.edu

Dr. Julian Fairey
julianf@uark.edu

Faculty in this area are active in projects on deep and shallow foundation design, slope stability, settlement of natural and compacted soils, soil dynamics, earthquake engineering, geo-environmental engineering, and unsaturated soils. Read more>>

Research Faculty

Dr. Clinton Wood
cmwood@uark.edu

Dr. Andrew Braham
afbraham@uark.edu

Dr. Kevin Hall
kdhall@uark.edu

Dr. Julian Fairey
julianf@uark.edu

Dr. Gary Prinz
prinz@uark.edu

Faculty in this area study the fracture and fatigue of materials, pre-stressed concrete design and performance, concrete materials and mixture proportioning, wind engineering, and airport runway/aircraft compatibility.Read more>>

Research Faculty

Dr. Micah Hale
micah@uark.edu

Dr. Ernie Heymsfield
ernie@uark.edu

Dr. Gary Prinz
prinz@uark.edu

Faculty in this area focus on pavements and materials, long range freight planning, pavement management systems, planning and land development, geometric design, traffic and signal design, and capacity analysis.Read more>>

Research Faculty

Dr. Andrew Braham
afbraham@uark.edu

Dr. Kevin Hall
kdhall@uark.edu

Dr. Sarah Hernandez
sarahvh@uark.edu

Dr. Micah Hale
micah@uark.edu

Dr. Ernie Heymsfield
ernie@uark.edu

Dr. Clinton Wood
cmwood@uark.edu

Research Center

Center for Training Transportation Professionals

Center for Training Transportation Professionals

More info
Mack-Blackwell Transportation Center

Mack-Blackwell Transportation Center


More info
Maritime Transportation Research and Education Center

Maritime Transportation Research and Education Center

More info
Southern Plains Transportation Center

Southern Plains Transportation Center


More info

Request Information

Loading...

Degrees Offered 

Master's of Science in Civil Engineering
Master's of Science in Environmental Engineering
Doctorate of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Master's Program Length 

Coursework and Thesis:
Coursework: 24 hours
Thesis: 6 hours 
Coursework only:
30 hours 

Ph.D. Program Length

From B.S.:
72 hours, including Doctoral Dissertation 
From M.S.:
42 credit hours, including Doctoral Dissertation 

Application Deadline

Priority Deadline:
Fall: January 15 
Spring: October 1 
Regular Deadline:
Fall: May 1 
Spring: October

Department Website