Get Involved

Group of students posing for photoThe Purpose of the University of Arkansas Engineering Student Council is to support all College of Engineering student organizations while providing opportunities for collaboration.

The Dean’s Office will contribute $500 a year to each RSO. This funding may be used toward activities that support their RSO efforts. Each semester, each student organization will have access to $250.

To receive funding in subsequent semesters, each RSO must adhere to the following guidelines:

  • The Engineering Student Council will plan and host Engineers Week: February 19-25, 2023.
  • The Engineering Student Council will plan and host Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day-February 23, 2023. Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day (Girl Day) helps focus a growing movement to inspire girls’ futures, so they learn they have a place in engineering a better world. In just one day you can make a difference by sharing your knowledge, experience, and some fun! Give girls the chance to think like an engineer and you will be amazed at what you learn! https://discovere.org/engage/girl-day/
  • The RSO president or designee must attend the monthly Engineering Student Council meetings.
  • When requested, attend College of Engineering Dean’s Office functions.
  • Represent your student organization and the College of Engineering at events and activities across campus.
  • Represent the College of Engineering at industry, alumni, and stakeholder functions.
  • Participate in the fall and spring College of Engineering RSO Showcase.
  • If requested, participate in panel discussions to share information and opportunities about the College of Engineering.
  • Encourage your members to attend the STEM Career Fairs.
  • Each RSO must first apply for ASG funding before College of Engineering funding may be requested.

 

Name Contact (s)

Email/Advisor

Website Department
Alpha Chi Sigma   alphachi@uark.edu   Chemical Engineering
Alpha Eta Mu Beta Malachi Nichols
Christopher Nelson (Advisor)
mn015@uark.edu
nelsonc@uark.edu
  Biomedical Engineering
Alpha Pi Mu Valerie Jackson 
Kelly Sullivan (Advisor)
vpjackso@uark.edu
ksulliv@uark.edu
alpimu@uark.edu
 www.alphapimu.com Industrial Engineering
American Indian Science and Engineering Society Ivris Raymond
Thomas Carter III (Advisor)
tjraymon@uark.edu
tic@uark.edu

  all
American Institute of Aeronautics and and Astronautics Chandler Dye
Adam Huang (Advisor)

crd015@uark.edu
ahuang@uark.edu

  Mechanical Engineering
American Institute of Chemical Engineers Andie Veeder
Jamie Hestekin (Advisor)
adveeder@uark.edu
jhesteki@uark.edu
  Chemical Engineering
American Society of Civil Engineers Timothy Nunez
Kevin Hall (Advisor)
tonunez@uark.edu
kdhall@uark.edu
  Civil Engineering
American Society of Mechanical Engineers Shel-Twon Warren
James Leylek (Advisor)
sw070@uark.edu
jleylek@uark.edu
  Mechanical Engineering
Arkansas Engineers Abroad     Arkansasengineersabroad.
blogspot.com
all
Association for Computing Machinery Jack Norris
Matthew Patitz
jtn006@uark.edu
patitz@uark.edu
acm@uark.edu
rso.uark.edu/acm/ Computer Science and Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering
Biological Engineering Student Club Emily Tappana
Scott Osborn (Advisor)

emtappan@uark.edu
gsosborn@uark.edu
bengclub@uark.edu
  Biological Engineering
Biomedical Engineering Society U of A Student Chapter Isabel Powers
Young Hye Song (Advisor)
ilpowers@uark.edu
yhsong@uark.edu

  Biomedical Engineering
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals U of A Student Roundtable   uacscmp@gmail.com   Industrial Engineering
Engineering World Health – U of A Chapter     www.ewh.org Biomedical Engineering
Eta Kappa Nu
International Honor Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Shi Yin Hong
Roy McCann
syhong@uark.edu
rmccann@uark.edu

  Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Computer Engineering
IEEE Power Electronics Society (pels) and Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Jeremiah Wimer
Juan Balda (Advisor)
jrwimer@uark.edu
jbalda@uark.edu
  Electrical Engineering
IEEE Power Electronics Society Student Chapter   pels@uark.edu wordpress.uark.edu/pels Electrical Engineering
INFORMS    

www.informs.org

Industrial Engineering
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Gabriela Mendoza
Robert Saunders (Advisor)
gimendoz@uark.edu
rsaunder@uark.edu
  Electrical Engineering
IEEE Women in Engineering Danielle Eggers
Silke Spiesshoefer (Advisor)
daeggers@uark.edu
sspiessh@uark.edu
  Electrical Engineering
Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers Abigail Harris
Manuel Rossetti (Advisor)
alh061@uark.edu
rossetti@uark.edu
iise@uark.edu
www.iise.org Industrial Engineering
Institute of Transportation Engineers Sanjeev Bhurtyal
Sarah Hernandez (Advisor) 
sbhurtya@uark.edu
sarahvh@uark.edu
   
Materials Research Society     www.mrs.org Mechanical Engineering
National Society of Black Engineers Kaleb Manley
Thomas Carter III (Advisor)
kmmanley@uark.edu
tic@uark.edu
nsbe@uark.edu
  all
National Society of Professional Engineers   jdblanch@uark.edu    
Omega Chi Epsilon   oxe@uark.edu   Chemical Engineering
oSTEM
Out in STEM
Gerald Matella
Ben Runkle (Advisor)
grmatell@uark.edu
brrunkle@uark.edu
   
Pi Tau Sigma
International Honor Society for Mechanical Engineers
Andrew Bexten 
Thomas Bailey (Advisor)
adbexten@uark.edu
tjbaile@uark.edu
  Mechanical Engineering
Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers Jose Martinez
Thomas Carter III (Advisor)

jlm083@uark.edu
tic@uark.edu
shpe@uark.edu

www.shpe.org all
Society of Women Engineers Devon Roberts
Wen Zhang (Advisor)
drr012@uark.edu
wenzhang@uark.edu
swe@uark.edu
uark.swe.org all
Space Technology, Astronomy, Astronautics, and Rocketry Noshin Nawar 
Patrice Storey (Advisor )
nnawar@uark.edu
patrices@uark.edu
   
Student chapter of American Concrete Institute   kplambec@uark.edu   Civil Engineering
Tau beta pi
The Engineering Honor Society
Katherine Skiles
Heather Walker (Advisor)
Alan Mantooth (Advisor)
keskiles@uark.edu
hlw@uark.edu
mantooth@uark.edu
tbp@uark.edu
  all
Theta Tau     upsilonthetatau.org all
Upsilon Pi Epsilon     https://upe.acm.org/ all